October 24, 2006

Plans!

Posted in projects at 5:21 pm by buckybarkley

Actually, I should say “2L projects” …

Aside from my gallery and photo show on Info Island (24, 125, 33), I have three programming projects I’ve worked on in-world:

  • Radio – posted as “Bucky’s Radio” on the forums. This was the start of my use of a dialog & chat driven interface. The radio makes it easy to sort and find streams from a list of 50 or so.
  • Web Browser – also posted to the forums. This is the same sort of dialog and chat interface, except oriented at launching an external web browser. The browser is used extensively in the libraries at Info Island.
  • Texture Chooser – posted as “Bucky’s Texture Chooser” on the forums. Same interface. This is aimed at changing entire themes of a room, building, or whatever linked object you’d like

The Texture Chooser is the project I am most excited about. It allows you to walk around a room or a building, point at types of surfaces (floor, wall, window), and interactively choose texture, alpha level, rotation, lighting, and many more attributes. I have a demo object I can give out in-world. I have a large testbed where I continue to get it ready for an official 1.0 release. The Gallery I built uses the texture chooser – so you can see the effect of changing themes on a building in real time.

So … plans. I will soon open a place on my 512 plot to give out demo objects for my 3 projects!  I will announce that in the next week or so.  The other thing on my mind is where to cut off features for the texture chooser, and to focus on a commercial version.

Leave a Reply

